In A Blink

Posted: June 14, 2023 in Journal of the Jester
Tags: , , ,

I met her in the strangest of ways, the beauty of my world. She found me nestled upon shattered safety glass and smoke, twisted steel, and spilled gasoline. Her touch was like an angel as it removed every ounce of fear from me. The confusion that had surrounded me like a fog was whisked away by her refreshing winds as I started to recall the headlights a moment before. My love did not think I needed to remember that though and she kissed me then. Oh, how those lips can remedy the worst the world has to give.

When she pulled back from the kiss, I opened my eyes and asked her name. She replied, “The next step in life is death, now take my hand and walk with me.”

I remember feeling like I was floating as I left behind the wreckage on the interstate, I could almost hear other people shouting far off in the distance, but I was so absolutely in love with her then. As the other voices drifted deeper into my past her name whispered itself into my mind. She was Death, and she was beautiful.

Leave a comment