The Moonlit Maze

Posted: July 15, 2023 in Journal of the Jester
Tags: , , ,

She smiled casually and told me not to worry, that we are dreaming, and all answers can be found within the dream.

As her fingers slipped from my grasp I held back the desire to call out for her to be careful as she walked into the forest. For I’ve been in dreams before, and I know that while you may find the answers you seek, the hardest part is finding your way back to the place where that knowledge is needed.

You see, the dream is a world that collects its toll only while you are within it. It will give up its secrets, but then spin you off into another puzzle as it works to keep you trapped deep inside and distracted.

It’s the reason I’ve slept for seven days, and although I’ve awakened screaming a dozen times, I’m still very much trapped in here, but I am learning the game, I am figuring out how to free myself.

Look there, that building looks inviting. Wait, wasn’t there someone I was with? Never mind, let’s go see what is inside.

Leave a comment