Trinkets

Posted: January 10, 2023 in Stories
Tags: , ,

He couldn’t stop shifting his gaze from her eyes to her necklace. “I don’t understand witchcraft stuff but you are amazing,” he whispered.

“Maybe you’re under a spell,” she teased.

“Is that what that’s for?” he asked, pointing at the strange face with fangs and a protruding tongue that hung from a chain around her neck.

She wrapped her hand around it as she laughed, “This? I was hoping you were looking at me this whole time.”

He just slowly shook his head as he stared at it, trying to figure out if it was something he had seen before.

“It’s the Gorgon, it’s supposed to protect from evil,” she offered.

He finally looked up and met her gaze, “I would never hurt you,” he promised sincerely.

She smiled as she let her gaze drift off behind him, “I don’t wear it to protect me, I wear it to protect others.”

“Others?” He asked cautiously.

“Yes,” she replied, “cause the moment you showed interest my demons all started asking me if it was, ‘time to play’.”

Leave a comment